Kinoko Teikoku – ‘Eureka’


Japanese four piece Kinoko Teikoku released their eclectically noisy record ‘Eureka’ via Daizawa/UK Project earlier in the year. The title track shows off their noisier side, which for the most part is surprisingly accessible. The female-fronted Kinoko Teikoku released their debut EP in 2012, quickly becoming known for their rock anthems that borrowed from space rock, post rock, noise rock… you get the picture!

Kinoko Teikoku – ‘Eureka’

[mejsaudio src=]

Visit Kinoko Teikoku online @ Daizawa/UK Project.

Boris – 'Spoon'

Boris have been making hard hitting tunes since the early 90s… and lots of them. The Japanese trio have announced album number fifteen, creatively titled ‘New Album’. It will be available worldwide from November 25 through Sargent House. The album includes new versions of songs from ‘Heavy Rocks’ and ‘Attention Please’. So technically it’s not a completely ‘New Album’ but will still contain fresh songs.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

The fuzzy and blissed out track ‘Spoon’ was originally released back in May on ‘Attention Please’ but it’s been re-imagined for ‘New Album’ and given some extra studio polish (calming the drums down quite a lot). The light Japanese vocals float over a driving rhythm section, relentless guitars and fleeting electronics. I particularly like the random ascending ending which sounds like it could be from a Saturday morning cartoon show. Anime rather. Fun stuff!

Visit Boris @ Bandcamp or order through Sargent House.