Nøthing Collective – ‘Nøthing #4’ (French Compilation)


Hartzine have premiered the EPIC new compilation from Nøthing Collective, ‘Nøthing #4’. It features 27 songs from the French underground, from Rennes to Paris (including coldwave, shoegaze, psych and dream pop). There’s a number of familiar names; Dead Horse One, Venera 4, Hermetic Delight, Maria False, Dead Sea, and plenty of new acts to discover as well.

Nøthing Collective – ‘Nøthing 4’ (French Compilation)

Visit Nøthing Collective @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

Vaniish – ‘Kaleidoscoped’

vaniish-memory work-artwork-cover

Guitarist and singer Keven Tecon is known for his work with Wax Idols (and formerly Soft Moon) but the San Francisco-based artist has re-invented himself with the new four piece band Vaniish. Tecon has enlisted Wax Idols bassist Amy Rosenoff, together with drummer Nick Ott and Adam Beck (on guitar and keyboards). Their first single ‘Kaleidoscoped’ is a stormy post punk tune, set to appear on the band’s debut LP ‘Memory Work’ (available from June 10 on Metropolis Records).

Vaniish – ‘Kaleidoscoped’

Visit Vaniish @ Metropolis Records @ Facebook.

The KVB – ‘Across The Sea’

the kvb-across the sea-artwork-cover

Nicholas Wood & Kat Day return with The KVB’s new EP ‘Out Of Body’ on June 2 (via A Records). This time Stereolab’s Joe Dilworth ads his drumming to the mix. It follows the London duo’s 2013 EP ‘Minus One’ and a globetrotting tour with The Brian Jonestown Massacre (read interview for more). Our first listen is ‘Across The Sea’, a step away from the buzzsaw guitars of their ‘Immaterial Visions’ LP. The KVB have blended coldwave, psych and noise rock in the past but this is one of their cleaner offerings. We’ll have to wait til June to find out what the rest of ‘Out Of Body’ holds.

The KVB – ‘Across The Sea’

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Visit The KVB @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

Death Of Lovers – ‘Buried Under A World Of Roses’


Nick Bassett of Whirr (formerly Deafheaven) and Domenic Palermo (Nothing) formed a new side project called Death Of Lovers whilst touring together last year. The debut single ‘Buried Under A World Of Roses’ was posted last October and today the band formerly announced the arrival of an EP via Death Wish Inc. It’s a mix of post punk, coldwave and fuzz pedals that’s unashamedly dark. Time to break out the black nail polish!

Death Of Lovers – ‘Buried Under A World Of Roses’

[mejsaudio src= https://www.soundsbetterwithreverb.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Death-Of-Lovers-Buried-Under-A-World-Of-Roses.mp3]

Visit Death Of Lovers @ Bandcamp @ Tumblr @ Death Wish Inc @ Facebook.

Dream Affair – ‘From Now On’


Brooklyn’s Dream Affair released their ‘From Now On‘ EP on vinyl this week via Artificial Records/HDD (digital previously available). The coldwave/post punk trio craft stormy sounds with an 80s goth bent. If you like bleak pop tunes, you may have found a new friend – if not, carry on.

Dream Affair – ‘From Now On’

[mejsaudio src= https://www.soundsbetterwithreverb.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Dream-Affair-From-Now-On.mp3]

Visit Dream Affair online @ Artificial Records @ Hand Drawn Dracula @ Facebook.