captcha image

A password will be e-mailed to you.

 A Place To Bury Strangers are back! The record button has been blacked out for two years but we finally have a new tune called ‘So Far Away’ (download @ Pitchfork). The Brooklyn noise rocking punks have joined the Dead Oceans imprint and will make their label debut with the fresh EP ‘Onwards To The Wall’ due February 7.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

‘So Far Away’ leads the five track collection that was produced by A Place To Bury Strangers themselves. Oddly enough, they’ve dished out a more polished version than their earbleeding back catalogue. How they managed to contain their apocalyptic blast of jagged noise without a seasoned engineer is anybody’s guess.

To be honest, I was expecting an album, not an EP. After all, leading man Oliver Ackermann did announce earlier in the year that the band had hit the studio to track their third record. My bet is that ‘Onwards To The Wall’ will be followed by a full length *kicks at rumour mill*. I’m basing that assumption on a statement made by Dead Oceans, “It’s a new chapter, a prelude for what awaits us on the horizon. It is a taste of greatness to come.” Then again, I suppose “what awaits us” is the new EP… *kicks at rumour mill*.

A Place To Bury Strangers – ‘Onwards To The Wall’ tracklist…
01 I Lost You
02 So Far Away
03 Onwards to the Wall
04 Nothing Will Surprise Me
05 Drill It Up

Visit A Place To Bury Strangers online or through Dead Oceans.

Related Posts