Cull – ‘Nasty Drought’


Cull return with the new single ‘Nasty Drought‘, the second single from their debut LP ‘Aloft’ (out early 2015). “Australia’s most dedicated careerwave / shoegaze rockteam” hit us with a fresh psychedelic palette that’s as colourful and unpredictable as ever! The foursome (Chumpy Ly, Alex Watts, Julian Cerreto and Tim Shorten) enjoyed lots of love for their ‘Ba Noi‘ EP and most recently ‘Magi Fuel’, looking forward to the next stop.

Cull – ‘Nasty Drought’

Visit Cull @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

Dead Sea – ‘Keep It High / Rain’ [EP 1]


Hands up if you remember Dead Sea‘s stellar debut single ‘Before We Die’? The cheaters can check out the youtube link below! This week the French four piece posted two new tracks from their first EP, ‘Keep It High’ and ‘Rain’. It marks a clear departure from the smoky dream pop of their debut but still with dreamy edge, albeit with an electronic/chillwave feel. No doubt it’ll win a heap of new fans.

Dead Sea – ‘Keep It High / Rain’ [EP 1]

Visit Dead online @ Facebook.

La Casa Al Mare – ‘Sunflowers’ [Video]

La casa al mare-sunflowers-album-cover-art1

The two months wait since La Casa Al Mare‘s debut may seem like a sneeze in the midst of our current ‘shoegaze revival’ and the return of long-slumbering genre pioneers to studios and stages. Graciously, the Italian wunderkinder have delivered another single, ‘Sunflowers,’ a densely-textured noise escape to sate our ear. It’s paired with the contrasting ‘Dagger’-esque ringing, swelling sweetness of ‘Tonight or never,’ and a video that takes the literal approach to kaleidoscopic visuals. [By Dave Lytton]

La Casa Al Mare – ‘Sunflowers’

Visit La Casa Al Mare @ Bandcamp @ Soundcloud @ Facebook @ Lady Sometimes Records.

The Cherry Wave – ‘Avalancher’


Scottish shoegazers The Cherry Wave have delivered their fuzz filled debut album ‘Avalancher‘! Formed in 2012, the Glasgow foursome released their debut EP ‘Blush’ the following year, leading to live spots alongside Ringo Deathstarr, The Telescopes, Dead Rabbits, The KVB, Nothing and Mode Moderne among others. Last month we heard Avalancher’s lead tune ‘Whitey‘, now it’s time to see how the rest of the LP shapes up.

Despite being recorded at 45 A-Side Recordings by Luigi Pasquini, ‘Avalancher’ still retains the raw, lo-fi approach of their earlier work. The Cherry Wave haven’t opted for a high gloss sound and it suits the live feel of the album. It sounds like an dirty old cassette tape being blasted in a hall!

The Cherry Wave have upped the tempo on ‘Avalancher’, with a punk ethos shining through on tracks like ‘All I Know’, which is a short, supercharged, ear bleeder! The vocals are pretty much buried in reverb and guitars the entire album. This works for the most part, but on songs like ‘Harvest Summers’ there’s not just enough musical hooks to justify it.

It’s a brave record, staunch in avoiding typical “rock” production and delivery. The balance is well achieved on ‘Blissbomb’, an anthem where the melodies don’t need extra highlighting. In contrast, ‘Blinker’ removes much of this contrast, descending into a mid frequency blur.

Closing track ‘Fuzzthrower’ runs close to ten minutes, much of it is dominated by experimental noise (a la My Bloody Valentine’s holocaust) with drum hits peaking out the meters (and your eardrums)! Album highlights ‘All I Know’, ‘Blissbomb’ and ‘Whitey’ make ‘Avalancher’ a must listen for fans of noise and shoegaze. It’s been a long time coming for The Cherry Wave and the four piece have earned their stripes. ‘Avalancher’ is an uncompromising record with ass kicking rockers (flaws n’ all).
The Cherry Wave – ‘Avalancher’ [LP Stream]

Visit The Cherry Wave @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

The Cherry Wave - 'Avalancher'
Sound & Production
Reverb Rating
  • Big bold rockers with loads of noise!
  • The highlights 'All I Know', 'Blissbomb' & 'Whitey'
  • Anti-gloss sound for lo-fi lovers
  • Album runs a little short (eight songs)
  • Some songs get lost in the mid-range haze
3.8Overall Score
Reader Rating: (11 Votes)

Sunbeam Sound Machine – ‘Wonderer’


Melbourne multi-instrumentalist Nick Sowersby has got the attention of Fbi, Triple J, Impose, Tone Deaf and Brooklyn Vegan with his solo project Sunbeam Sound Machine, a mix of dream pop and psychedelia direct from his Collingwood garage. Nick’s debut full length ‘Wonderer’ is available now via Dot Dash/Remote Control (stream via Wondering Sound). The album was recorded and mixed by Stu Mackenzie (of King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard) with mastering by Andrei Eremin (Chet Faker, Oscar Key Sung, Banoffee).  It’s an acid washed journey, part pop and part experimental, yielding the singles ‘Real Life’ and ‘Wandering, I’.

Sunbeam Sound Machine – ‘Wandering, I’

Nick has also assembled a five piece for live shows, with a string of December dates coming up including Sydney’s Psych Fest at The Factory Theatre on December 13. The bumper line-up features Immigrant Union (with Brent DeBoer of the Dandy Warhols and Courtney Barnett), Dead China Doll, The Citradels (VIC), Salvadarlings (QLD) plus Adelaide’s Glass Skies and The Dunes (tickets here).

Visit Sunbeam Sound Machine @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

93MillionMilesFromTheSun – ‘Drive Blind’ (Ride Cover)


93MillionMilesFromTheSun pay tribute to Ride’s reunion by covering ‘Drive Blind’, released on Ride’s first EP back in 1990. Meanwhile, the Doncaster space rockers ready their new full length ‘Fall Into Nothing’, with the lead single ‘Sunshine Girl‘.

93MillionMilesFromTheSun – ‘Drive Blind’ (Ride Cover)

Visit 93MillionMilesFromTheSun @ Bandcamp @ Big Cartel @ In At The Eye Records @ Facebook.