Oliver Wilde – ‘Red Tide Opal In The Loose End Womb’

oliver wilde-ride tide opal in the loose end womb-artwork-cover

This week Howling Owl Records delivered Oliver Wilde‘s new album ‘Red Tide Opal In The Loose End Womb’ and it’s a stunner. Having already been impressed by ‘On This Morning’ and ‘Play And Be Saved‘, it’s a treat to hear the rest. The Bristol five piece produce warm and intricate songs that are comforting and profound. My personal favourite is ‘Pull’, the intimate vocals remind me a little of Elliott Smith. Oliver Wilde has been labelled “downer pop” and “indie folk meets shoegaze” but he’s clearly created something unique on this record. The only downside being the sedative sounds can overwhelm in the later half, but in some ways that’s a compliment in itself.

Oliver Wilde – ‘Red Tide Opal In The Loose End Womb’ [Album Stream]

Visit Oliver Wilde online @ Howling Owl Records @ Facebook.

Ancient Babes – ‘What Mean Expendable?’

ancient babes-what mean expendable-artwork-cover

Time to jump into the colourful world of Ancient Babes, the work of Vancouver’s Sam King. As the presser states, “After completing his PhD in particle physics in April 2014, Ancient Babes is now experiencing an existential crisis and enjoying life to the fullest.” The solo artist has his finger in many pies, from experimental meanderings to chillwave to gazey guitars! His latest tune ‘What Mean Expendable?’ is a combination of all three, it’s unpredictable and somewhat mental. Sadly the competition to win a “free, autographed, semi-nude portrait of Ancient Babes doing what he does best:  kickin’ ass and partyin’ hard all night” is now closed. To ease the pain of missing out on the chance to see Sam’s privates, here’s a free download.

Ancient Babes – ‘What Mean Expendable?’

Visit Ancient Babes @ Bandcamp @ Soundcloud @ Facebook.

Ringo Deathstarr – ‘God’s Dream’ [New Video]


Last month Ringo Deathstarr posted their ‘Bong Load‘ video and today we have the follow up clip for ‘God’s Dream’ (premiered @ Clash). As the Texan shoegaze trio puts it, “if you like looking at Alex’s face and home movies of Elliott’s dad you’ll love the vid”! In addition to vinyl copies of the ‘God’s Dream’ EP, fans can now pre-order on “convenient compact disc” (they work great in discmans). Or else pick up a download for five bucks here.

Ringo Deathstarr – ‘God’s Dream’ [New Video]

Visit Ringo Deathstarr online @ Facebook.

The Capsules – ‘Super Symmetry’

the capsules-the long goodbye-artwork-cover

On May 20 The Capsules will release their fifth album ‘The Long Goodbye’, building on the electronic dream pop of last year’s full length ‘Northern Lights & Southern Skies’. It’s a pleasure to premiere the new video ‘Super Symmetry’, a beautifully animated clip of mass industrialisation! The Dallas-based trio (Julie Shields, Jason Shields and Kevin Trevin) come armed with sharp production talent and of course, Julie’s vocal harmonies. Pre-order ‘The Long Goodbye’ at Saint Marie Records.

The Capsules – ‘Super Symmetry’

Visit The Capsules online @ Saint Marie Records @ Facebook.

Craft Spells – ‘Komorebi’


Craft Spells deliver their new single ‘Komorebi’ in the lead up to the forthcoming album ‘Nausea’ (out June 10 via Captured Tracks). The San Francisco-based jangle poppers have fleshed out their sound, adding a lush orchestral layer that sets them apart. If you missed the lead single ‘Breaking The Angle Against The Tide’, check it out here.

Craft Spells June Tour Dates…

6/13 – Brooklyn, NY – Captured Tracks Northside Showcase – Warsaw*
6/14 – Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel**
6/15 – Baltimore, MD – Ottobar**
6/17 – Columbus, OH – Rumba Cafe
6/18 – Bloomington, IN – The Bishop
6/19 – Chicago, IL – Township
6/20 – Ferndale, MI – The Loving Touch***
6/21 – Toronto, ON – NXNE
6/21 – Montreal, QC – Il Motore
6/23 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall

Craft Spells – ‘Komorebi’

Visit Craft Spells @ Captured Tracks @ Facebook.