Whirr To Kick Off ‘Sway’ Tour


Whirr fans are preparing to test the limits of their eardrums following a Spring tour announcement! The quintet will be joined by Wildhoney, Adventures and Wild Moth (on the select dates below). The Philly/San Francisco outfit will be performing songs from their ‘Sway’ LP (out now via Graceface). The album was recorded by ‘Sunbather’ producer Jack Shirley in Oakland, before (amazingly) popping up in the Billboard Charts. Tickets for the tour are on sale now and come with a complimentary social media insult. C***s. Kidding, kidding.

Whirr – ‘Heavy’

Whirr April ’15 USA Tour Dates:

April 2 – Denver, CO @ The Moon Room
April 3 – Omaha, NE @ O’Leaver’s
April 4 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean (w/ Pity Sex) *
April 5 – Lansing, MI @  Mac’s Bar *
April 6 – Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s *
April 7 – Pittsburgh, PA @  Mr. Roboto Project *
April 8 – New York, NY @ Baby’s All Right * (tickets)
April 9 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs *
April 10 – Washington, DC @ DC9 *
April 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Ortlieb’s (early all ages) *
April 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Ortlieb’s (late +21) *
April 12 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter *#
April 14 – Atlanta, GA @ The Drunken Unicorn #
April 15 – Nashville, TN @ Cafe Coco #
April 16 – Memphis, TN @ Hi Tone #
April 17 – Fort Worth, TX @ Lola’s ^
April 18 – Austin, TX @ Red7 ^
April 19 – San Antonio, TX @ Korova ^
April 20 – El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls ^
April 21 – Phoenix, AZ @ Pub Rock ^
April 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon ^
April 23 – Bakersfield, CA @ Muso’s Gym ^
April 25 – Oakland, CA @ 1234 Go Records! ^

w/ Adventures = *
w/ Wildhoney = #
w/ Wild Moth = ^

Visit Whirr @ Tumblr @ Graveface Records @ Facebook.

Holy Noise – ‘Indonesian Shoegazer Compilation’


Anoa Records presents ‘Holy Noise – Indonesian Shoegazer’ compilation on limited cassette (which is almost sold out) and digital (download here). The Jakarta-based label has assembled fourteen locals acts with fresh talent and familiar names, like Seaside (pictured) and Sharesprings. It’s a mixed bag of lo-fi fuzz, psych rock and tremolo riding madness, take a listen to Mellow Yellow’s ‘The Longest Yard’ and introduce yourself…

Holy Noise – ‘Indonesian Shoegazer Compilation’ [LP Stream]

Visit Anoa Records online @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

Kigo – ‘Like Amber’


Kigo has unveiled the fresh single ‘Like Amber‘, an airy shoegaze tune that’s incredibly pretty! The Brisbane-based solo artist (Dwayne Pearce) delivers his most sublime track yet, with a submerged feel throughout. This time round there’s no eardrum quivering blast of white noise (which I was waiting to hear on first listen). Lovely work! ‘Like Amber’ follows December’s ‘Never Knowing’, both will appear on a forthcoming 2015 release.

Kigo – ‘Like Amber’

Visit Kigo @ Bandcamp.

Somerville Jack – ‘Kali’


Chris McComas (Somerville Jack) has released a brilliant dream pop tune on the latest Citrus City Records compilation (available here). The Canadian solo artist has recently completed work on a debut full length, while his other project (the jangle pop duo Permanent Vacation), are also soon to announce details of a new record. The man never sleeps!

Somerville Jack – ‘Kali’

Visit Somerville Jack @ Citrus City @ Facebook.

Morels – ‘Raygun’


Introducing Morels, a fresh dream pop/shoegaze band from Baltimore. ‘Raygun’ is their first single (available here) from their debut album, expected later this year. The four piece features former members of The Flying Eyes, Bad Liquor Pond and The Warlocks. As you’ll hear, Morels are influenced by the classics (Slowdive, MBV) and are off to an impressive start!

Morels – ‘Raygun’

Visit Morels @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

The Black Ryder – ‘Let Me Be Your Light’


The wait is (almost) over for The Black Ryder‘s second studio album ‘The Door Behind The Door’ (out February 24 – presale). EW has premiered the Aussie shoegazers latest single ‘Let Me Be Your Light’. It’s hushed tone plays out like a gothic lullaby. If a James Bond theme was ever to go dream pop, this may be it! Beautiful song. It follows the diverse singles ‘Seventh Moon’, ‘Let Me Be Your Light’ and ‘Santaria’. The Black Ryder have also announced a support slot with The Jesus And Mary Chain on their upcoming US tour.

The Black Ryder – ‘Let Me Be Your Light’

Visit The Black Ryder @ The Anti-Machine Machine @ Facebook.