Sweet Trip – ‘Velocity: Design: Comfort’


Here’s a classic cut from Sweet Trip‘s second full length ‘Velocity: Design: Comfort’. Originally released in June of 2003 by Darla Distribution, it was praised for its crazy mix of glitchy beats, electronica, indie pop and shoegaze. ‘Chocolate Matter’ is an example of the latter and is primarily the work of San Francisco’s Roberto Burgos, together with vocalist Valerie Reyes. Sweet Trip’s final album ‘You Will Never Know Why’ was released back in 2009. But… last year Roberto posted a new Sweet Trip tune on Soundcloud, hinting it was the last. P.s. thanks Sam for the note!

Sweet Trip – ‘Chocolate Matter’

Visit Sweet Trip @ Darla @ LastFm.

Eagulls – ‘Possessed’


Eagulls debut LP is shaping up to be a lot of fun, judging by the title track anyhow! The Leeds post punk band have the same kind of energy and urgency that made everyone fall for Japandroids ‘Celebration Rock’ in 2012. The five piece release ‘Possessed’ on Partisan Records, March 4 (pre-order). Hope there’s more epic guitars on the record!

Eagulls – ‘Possessed’

Visit Eagulls online @ Partisan Records @ Facebook.

September Girls – ‘Cursing The Sea’


Fuzz, reverb and pop hooks combine on September Girls debut long player ‘Cursing The Sea’ (out this month via Fortuna Pop). The Irish outfit follow in the footsteps of Veronica Falls with their energetic garage pop approach. It’s not terribly unique but if you’re a fan of catchy lo-fi rock then best take a peek!

September Girls – ‘Green Eyed’

Visit September Girls @ Fortuna Pop @ Facebook.

Nevermind Me – ‘Leaves Fall’


London-based band Nevermind Me have delivered a fresh EP called ‘Winter‘ featuring the opener ‘Leaves Fall‘. This alt rocker dips its toes in heavy guitars and dreamy vocals. If it lifts your skirt, check out their self-titled EP from last September here.

Nevermind Me – ‘Leaves Fall’

Visit Nevermind Me @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

The Mary Onettes – ‘Silence Is A Gun’


The Mary Onettes have announced a new mini-album called ‘Portico’, due March 4 via Labrador. The Swedish foursome have posted the lead single ‘Silence Is A Gun‘ in the lead up to their stateside tour (see dates).

The Mary Onettes – ‘Silence Is A Gun’

Visit The Mary Onettes @ Labrador @ Facebook.

Snowbird – ‘Moon’


London dream pop duo Snowbird release their full length ‘Moon’ this week via Rough Trade/Bella Union. It’s the work of Simon Raymonde (former Cocteau Twins bassist) and singer Stephanie Dosen. Of course, nobody can replace the vocals of Elizabeth Fraser but that doesn’t stop comparisons being made between Snowbird and Cocteaus. Nevertheless, ‘Moon’ is a great record, thanks (in part) to the long list of talent that contributed, including Philip Selway and Ed O’Brien (Radiohead), Paul Gregory (Lanterns On The Lake) plus Eric Pulido and McKenzie Smith (Midlake). The album is coupled with a remix album called ‘Luna’. Simon and Stephanie’s styles work so well together and they’ve created some beautiful pop songs. If you’re a fan of Mazzy Star, Land Of Talk or Warpaint, this is a must.

Snowbird – ‘All Wishes Are Ghosts’

Visit Snowbird @ Bella Union @ Facebook.

Snowbird - 'Moon'
3.5Overall Score
Reader Rating: (2 Votes)

Technicolor Teeth – ‘Tomb’


Technicolor Teeth fans can pick up the forthcoming compilation ‘Can You Keep Me Out Of Hell’ at shows from March 4. Only on cassette (at this stage) via Accidental Guest Recordings, but you can stream a few songs here. The eleven track release includes a woozy gem called ‘Tomb’ (via Adhoc) – see tour dates.

Technicolor Teeth – ‘Tomb’

Visit Technicolor Teeth @ Bandcamp @ Accidental Guest Recordings @ Facebook.

Gum – ‘Growin’ Up’


Jay Watson (of Tame Impala / Pond) unveiled another single late last year called ‘Growin’ Up’ (free download). Working under the moniker Gum, Jay has teamed up with Spinning Top Music for his debut solo album ‘Delorean Highway’. A release date is yet to be announced but I’m hoping there’s more psych pop adventures like ‘Grownin’ Up’ just around the corner.

Gum – ‘Growin’ Up’

Visit Gum @ Spinning Top Music @ Facebook.

Cheatahs – ‘Fall And Get Tight (Live At Dropout)’


Just in case you needed reminding that Cheatahs debut self-titled album is imminent, the British shoegazers posted these live videos of ‘Fall’ and ‘Get Tight’. They were filmed at Dropout Studios in Camberwell, London, where the four piece tracked the album. Expect two more live videos, presumably the singles ‘Kenworth’ and ‘Cut The Grass’. The album is due February 10 (UK) and February 11 (USA) via Wichita Recordings.

Cheatahs – ‘Fall & Get Tight (Live At Dropout)’ [VIDEO]

Visit Cheatahs online @ Wichita Recordings @ Facebook.

Surf Club – ‘Until Then’


French label Beko will release the beautiful new single from Surf Club. The Californians have taken a step from their new wave past into dream pop territory. The result speaks for itself, fantastic tune. Check out the Frankie Soto interview over at Impose for more.

Surf Club – ‘Until Then’

Visit Surf Club online @ Soundcloud @ Facebook.