Lava Lite – ‘Lava Lite’


St. Petersburg shoegazers Lava Lite‘s hard work in the studio shows on their self-titled debut EP, released on Bandcamp in April. Since their 2011 demo release, they have cleaned up and focused their sound toward dream pop. Opener ‘Fear of Silence’ features a muddy wash of guitar, chugging drums, and brilliantly apathetic, near-monotone vocals that could be mistaken for Joy Division played through a wall. The pace picks up from there, with ‘Have You Ever’ and ‘Behind The Trees’ highlighting energetic, pop leaning songwriting, tight layers of reverb, thick bass, and more washed out vocals to tie it together. Sedate closer ‘Like in 1993′ brings the collection full circle building echoing guitar and sweetly nostalgic vocals.

Altogether an exciting release that hopefully is a sign of things to come! Should appeal to fans of Vaadat Charigim, Viscous Liquid, or Camcorders. Name your own price at Bandcamp or catch it on Soundcloud along with their demos. [by Dave Lytton]
Lava Lite – ‘Lava Lite’ [EP Stream]

Visit Lava Lite @ Bandcamp @ Soundcloud @ Facebook.

Miners – ‘Soft Focus’


‘Soft Focus’ by  New South Wales shoegazers Miners could be a soundtrack for the walk home after a very big night! Numb vocals and a sedate bass-driven melody offer a counterpoint to the distorted ringing-in-the-ears guitar wall (filling the background). The track is off the ‘Beached Friends‘ compilation by newly formed Farmer & The Owl Records featuring “some of their favorite underground artists with whom all have found a special connection to the leisure coast.” While the compilation crosses genre lines with plenty of indie rock and surf-inspired tunes, there are some psych gems as well (see ‘Nevernow’ by The Grease Arrestor); give a listen or pay-what-you-want over on Bandcamp. Check Soundcloud to dig into Miners’ earlier lo-fi, shoegaze, and punk inspired EP featuring fuzz, texture, and lots of talent. [by Dave Lytton]

Miners – ‘Soft Focus’

Visit Miners @ Bandcamp @ Soundcloud @ Facebook.

The Moas – ‘Blue Light’


2013 and 2014 have been packed with some of the best shoegaze and dream pop in ages. That an album as strong and engaging as The Moas self-titled debut didn’t make it to SBWR when it was released in August speaks to the massive quality and quantity of reverb-soaked output the world over. Featuring lovely, lazily swoony vocals; complex, ever-changing time structures; dream-pop melodies; and just enough reverb to fuzz up the edges, the album garnered well-deserved positive notice locally. The Saskatoon foursome explore catchy indie-pop melodies laid out by bending guitars and a peculiar organ (‘Blue Light’) as well as slow, dreamy tunes with boomy bass (‘No Colonial’) and a cohesive indie-rock sound that makes it all shine attractively. The band is already hard at work recording new material, so check Bandcamp to get caught up! [by Dave Lytton]

The Moas – ‘Blue Light’

Visit The Moas @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

The Death Of Pop – ‘Mirage’

the death of pop-mirage-artwork

The Death Of Pop unleash their new EP ‘Fifths’ on July 28 via Art Is Hard! The British family band (three brothers / two cousins) recently posted the poppy single ‘Whenever‘ and now we can wrap our ears around ‘Mirage’ (via DIY). It’s always a surprise with these guys, who knows what sound will pop out. It’s like jangle pop, shoegaze and psych in a blender. ‘Fifths’ is bound to be a strong release, ‘Mirage’ is fantastic.

The Death Of Pop – ‘Mirage’

Visit The Death Of Pop @ Art Is Hard @ Soundcloud @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.

Eros and the Eschaton – ‘Cry’

bar none records sampler

New Jersey’s Bar/None Records have posted their free Summer Sampler (download) which includes an exclusive song by Eros and the Eschaton. It’s a cover of the classic ‘Cry’ which was popularized by Lynn Anderson (originally from the 50s). Eros and the Eschaton have put their dark and dreamy stamp on it! The husband and wife duo (Kate Perdoni and Adam Hawkins) released their much loved debut LP ‘Home Address For Civil War‘ last August.

Eros and the Eschaton – ‘Cry’

Visit Eros and the Eschaton @ Bar/None Records @ Facebook.

Power Pyramid – ‘Power Pyramid’

power pyramid-power pyramid artwork

Power Pyramid return with a self-titled EP that features the lead single ‘Silence‘. The Oklahoma five piece (Daniel Weaver, Trey Millward, Kilyn Massey, Brent Hodge and James Hammontree) have been working hard, dishing up fuzzy treats every few months since late 2012. In less than a year they’ve released two EPs and the full length ‘The God Drums‘. There’s also a fresh video for ‘Blue’ which plays out like a drunken highway cruise – don’t try it at home kids! Take a listen to the stream below or grab it at Bandcamp.

Power Pyramid – ‘Power Pyramid’ [EP Stream]

Visit Power Pyramid @ Bandcamp @ Facebook.